Skip to main content
Skip table of contents

Channel

Channels are virtual dividers that separate, filter and isolate content. Channels are like global filters that affect what content users see when working. If a given piece of content is permitted by the Channel's configuration, it can be shown; otherwise, the content is neither findable nor visible in the Content Browser, regardless of the connected user's permissions. Permissions determine which Channels are available to each user. It is possible (and not uncommon) that only a single Channel is accessible to any given user role. Channels are selected using the large drop-down menu just to the right of the Picturepark logo in the Content Browser.

Each Channel has its own Filter configuration. All search, sort, and filters are kept when switching the Channel, even when closing the browser. That information is only kept in your browser session and will be removed with a cache cleanup or when using a different browser. 

Create a Channel

Create a Channel

  1. Open Main Menu > Settings. The Settings section appears.

  2. Click on Channels

  3. Click on +

  4. Enter the name of the channel and add any translations in the Name field. ID is pre-filled from the input in the name field.
    💡 The channel ID is the link: customer.picturepark.com/contents/gdpr

Now you can create the channel already. It is added to the first position in the list.

All other settings are pre-filled with defaults which you can change:

  1. You can update the sort order used in the channel dropdown in the Content Browser.

  2. You can update the sort fields which are the sorting options you allow the user to see in the channels Content Browser.

  3. You can select the default sort for all content items in the channel.

Double-clicking on the channel will open the channel details in the 2-column layout. You can now add filters (faceted navigation) and permissions (roles that have access) on the right side:

  1. Add any Content Browser filters you would like for this channel by clicking Add in the Content browser filters tab.

    1. Add a filter only to show Content Items that have the Layer "Product information" assigned and the media type "Technical Product Sheet" or "Product Shot."

      CODE
      {
      	"kind": "AndFilter",
      	"filters": [
      		{
      			"kind": "TermFilter",
      			"field": "layerSchemaIds",
      			"term": "Vertical"
      		},
      		{
      			"kind": "OrFilter",
      			"filters": [
      				{
      					"kind": "TermFilter",
      					"field": "basicInformation.mediaType._refId",
      					"term": "648b76b163654189be7b6638b31fb243"
      				},
      				{
      					"kind": "TermFilter",
      					"field": "basicInformation.mediaType._refId",
      					"term": "d019419aae9a4eaeb715d35efa0e61d7"
      				}
      			]
      		}
      	]
      }
  2. Add the user roles that should have access to the channel in the permissions tab or select “View for all” if every user needs access.

Problem: New channel not visible in channel dropdown - usually missing permissions (your user is in a user role which cannot see the channel)

  1. Open the Channel

  2. Edit Settings

  3. Check "View for All"

  4. Validate if you can see it - then adapt the User Roles.

Problem: New channel is empty - probably a wrong channel filter  

  1. Open the Channel

  2. Edit Channel Filter

  3. Remove your Query Filter

  4. Validate if you can see content in your channels Content Browser

  5. Adapt the Query Filter

Custom Channel Sort Fields

Custom Channel Sort Fields

For custom sort fields, follow the steps:

  1. Validate that the field on the layer is sortable.

    1. Open Layer, edit field, and enable “sortable.” After changing this setting, you need to re-render.

      Convert a metadata field into a field you can use for sorting in a channel.

  2. Add field as a “sort field” (down below).

    1. Open the sort fields panel in the channel settings.

  3. Add field as sort in the channel settings.

    Add a sortable field as sort field to a channel.

Open a Channel

Open a Channel by Channel ID

You can open the channel from within the Content Browser or via URL if you know the ID. Bear in mind that you can lose access when permissions for the Channel change. 

CODE
https://customer.picturepark.com/contents/product

This way you can skip the dashboard and directly jump to your content.

Problem: New channel not visible in channel dropdown - usually missing permissions (your user is in a user role which cannot see the channel)

  1. Open the Channel

  2. Edit Settings

  3. Check "View for All"

  4. Validate if you can see it - then adapt the User Roles.

Problem: New channel not accessible from bookmark > channel probably removed

  1. Open Settings

  2. Check if the channel is there or contact your Picturepark Admin. 

Update a Channel

Update a Channel

  1. Open Sidebar > Settings. The Settings section appears.

  2. Click on Channels

  3. Double-click on the channel you wish to edit (or choose settings). 

  4. Edit in UI or JSON.

Copy a Channel

Copy a Channel

  1. Open Sidebar > Settings. The Settings section appears.

  2. Click on Channels

  3. Double-click on the channel you wish to edit (or choose settings). 

  4. Open “Edit JSON”

  5. Copy the whole JSON

  6. Go back to Channels

  7. Add a new channel

  8. Provide a name and save. 

  9. Double-click to open & “Edit JSON”

  10. Paste the copied JSON. 

    1. Update the new channel ID 

  11. Save the JSON

Ids must be unique, so you have to keep the ID. Saving will fail when you use a channel ID that is already present in this Picturepark. 

Delete a Channel

Delete a Channel

  1. Open Sidebar > Settings. The Settings section appears.

  2. Click on Channels

    1. Double-click to open.

    2. Open the context menu. 

  3. Select "Remove" Icon 

  4. Confirm deletion

There is no undo in Picturepark. Deleted Channels are gone. 

Bookmarks to the channel break and users lose access.

Use Cases for Channels

Channel Use Cases

  • Separating content by type, status, department owner, or usage

  • Restricting the content shown to specific users, such as partners or customers" This is the base where you will find all Content Items.

  • New user roles are automatically added to the Root Channel and removed if the user role is deleted.

  • Every item created/uploaded with be seen in the Root Channel (if view permission is given). There is no Query Filter on the Root Channel per default, although one can be set.

  • You can't delete the root channel as Picturepark depends on it for uploads and collections. 

JavaScript errors detected

Please note, these errors can depend on your browser setup.

If this problem persists, please contact our support.