Every action in Picturepark is notified in the notification pane at the bottom, a so-called Toast. There you will see how your upload goes, your import, your edit. The toast also has icons for additional actions depending on the process running e.g. a user can cancel an upload or directly edit imported files. The available actions are always related to the process running in Picturepark, so cancellation might not be available if the process is already finished or does not allow cancellation. Another benefit is that you get notified when you receive a Picturepark share from somebody else.

The notification icon displays how many unread notifications you currently have up to a total of 99, a so-called badge. After 99 unread notifications, the number will be displayed as 99+.

After the upload (which means your files are now in Picturepark and you can close your browser) Picturepark will directly import those files and display them in the Content Browser, which requires e.g. the creation of searchable values. It might take a little longer for the import to finish. 

Create a notification

Create a notification

You can only create notifications in the Business Rule menu. Business Rules can produce notifications that will pop up as a toast in the interface e.g. for new content available or updated content.

Notification Toast (Popup)

Notification Toast (Popup)

The notification widget shows a maximum of 20 messages whereas the new ones are always placed on the top. To access older messages, open the notifications in the main menu where all notifications are displayed.

You can collapse the notification Notification Widget Toast by clicking on the arrow or you can close it by clicking on the X. Once closed it will only be reopened by a new notification occurring.

Notification Center

Notification Center

You access the notification center from the notification toast in the Content Browser by clicking “Show all”.

Show all to open the notification center.

The notifications center shows all notifications, sorted chronologically by date descending. The date/time format is taken from the Picturepark date/time format which currently cannot be configured per Picturepark. There is no search in this area.

Notification state:

  • Unread

  • Read

Import collection in the notification area.

Notificaton and Event Types

Notification type

  • Schema import

  • Transfer

  • Share

  • User Registration

  • User Locked

  • User Reviewed

  • Batch-Edit Progress

  • Reindex

  • Statistics export

Event Type

  • Success - for example for a completed import.

  • Error - a JSON Schema import that is incorrectly created may cause an error for example.

  • Information - for example when a new user has registered or you have received a new share.

  • In progress - for imports, you can see a progress indicator for how many of the contents have already been imported and can also cancel the import if desired.

  • Warning - a canceled upload will be marked with an event type warning for example.

  • Pending - this is rarely seen as it will only appear on the initialization of an event.

Edit import collection in a notification

Edit Import Collection in a Notification

Picturepark automatically creates import, upload, or edit collections. Picturepark Business Rules can also create collections for new, updated, or changed items - based on the Business Rule configuration.

You find these collections in the Notifications, where you can access the content items imported together, and edit, download, or share/embed them.

Import collection in the notification area.

Quick Actions in Notification

Quick Actions in Notification

You can execute quick actions from the notification toast:

  • Edit (uploaded and imported content)

  • Open share

  • Cancel uploads (if the upload is still in progress)

  • Mark all notifications as read.

In the notification center, you can also mark all or only selected notifications as “read”.

Picturepark can inform users about unread notifications, so you might get an email if you have unread notifications. You define in your user profile how often you get an email.

Delete a notification

Delete a notification

You can only update notifications in the Business Rule menu.

Examples of notifications

Examples of notifications

  • When you receive a share.

  • When a new user has registered (if you are part of the built-in super admins' group).

  • When your account has been reviewed/locked/unlocked.

  • When file content items are uploading and once the transfer has been completed.

  • When file content items are importing and the import has been completed.

  • When schemas have been imported and the import has completed or failed.

  • When a batch edit is in progress/has completed.

  • When a user exported statistics.